Why XLN Audio Addictive Drums?

I am a total novice. Sorry if the topic has been covered 100 times… . I will be starting finger drumming next week. I am now setting it up in my studio… I have a question… …Recommended by this group I bought the Maschine Mikro. Ok., they have the best pads… Can you please explain to me why do I need Addictive Drums if Maschine already comes with lots of drum kits?.
Why Addictive drums is better for finger drumming ?. Thank you. Best Regards from Barcelona.

2 Likes

That is because Maschine devices come with more “sample based, hiphop, electronic music” type of kits. There are no kits available that actually sound like a drumkit.

That doesn’t have to be a problem. It depends on what type of music you want to make / play. Personally Iike the response a drumkit simulator like Addictive Drums 2 gives me. It picks a different set of samples for soft hits and loud hits. A literal recording of a drummer hitting for example a snare hard or soft. They also do this thing where they round robin the samples. That means if you hit a snare multple times in a row those will be different samples. Almost identical but not 100%. That creates this illusion of a real recorded drumkit.

None of the maschine kits will do that for you. But it’s probably still a lot of fun to play with those kits as well. It just wont sound like acoustic drums, but something else.

1 Like

Bon dia, Andreu!
I have bought Maschine Mikro mk3 as well, so I’ve been through the same process. So far, I have tried the free versions of Addictive Drums 2 and Steven Slate Audio. I think both are good, although probably AD2 sounds better (personal opinion). I decided not to go for the paid version as I was planning to get some NI Komplete bundle, which I did this week, including Abbey Road 60s.