Sounds for 4x4 drum set in Ableton Live 10 Lite

Hi,

Could you help me choose sound samples that I can bind to Launchpad X keys in Ableton Live 10 Lite so it sounds similar to 4x4 pad from beginners course?

There’s a million samples in Ableton and I’m lost…

If by any chance you could recommend settings for entire set The best 8x8 pad layout for finger drumming - The Quest for Groove that would be great :slight_smile:

Cheers

P.S. I’m a total noob, I’ve bought LP a year ago and it was sitting in a drawer, what a shame, I want to learn some basic finger drumming.

1 Like

Hey! I personally don’t use Ableton so I cannot tell you which sounds are similar.

The idea behind the Ableton drum rack is straightforwar enough though. Just drag the right sample to the right pad :slight_smile: I think it gets explained in this video: Ableton Live Drum Rack in 5 Minutes - YouTube

If you search for “kick” “snare” “sidestick” “hi hat” “ride” “tom” etc. you should be able to find samples and recreate the QFG layout.

It will never sound the way my kit sounds though, but that is because of how Addictive Drums (my kit) works. It’s a drum kit “simulator”, which means it uses multiple samples for each kit piece. The snare for example has at least 20 samples. For soft hits, loud hits and then also to “round robin” hits which means no two hits will sound exactly the same. Just like a real drum kit. That is the sound I like so much as opposed to the regular sampled sound you’ll find in Ableton.

It’s important to understand this. If you like my exact drum sound you will need what I use myself. I would not recommend it otherwise, because ofcourse it’s much better if stuff is free :slight_smile:

There’s a Black Friday sale going on and if you get the starter pack and then select the “Black Oyster, Fairfax 1 and Funk” kits, you’ll basically have every sound I ever use for under $100 !