MPD226 Setup struggle

Hi all!:wave:t3:
I’m brand new here… Just want to say that i’m starting finger drumming on a MPD 226 and the last couple on night i’ve struggle a little for avoiding double hit and gaining a crisp sound!
At last i came up with this Global Parameters:
PAD GAIN:0
PAD THRESHOLD: 1
PAD CURVE: EXP1
All PAD without AfterTouch
Hit “FULL LEVEL” button on the device (i think this save me from an initial lack of confidence)

What do you think? do you have some other advice?:grinning:

1 Like

I hope some other folks have tips to share, because these were the settings I used as well.

I’ve owned 2 mpd226 devices. The first one did pretty well with these settings. But the second one (a newer one that I bought last year) did not perform well at all… so yeah… again you’re dealing with crappy quality control and pretty big differences in sensitivity between the akai devices.

1 Like

Hey thanks Rob! I have to admit that i’ve no experience at all in this field. I’m a Bass player and i would like to learn something new.

I feel a little strange about your journey with the Akai devices, I’ve always thought that Akai was on the top of the game with all the experience over MPC, MPD, ecc…

Seem I need to look at your youtube comparison for some more clue! i’ll be back soon :smiley:

1 Like

It’s just my guess, but I think Akai cut corners to save money at some point, causing the new MPDs to be really hit or miss (no pun intended). My friend has one of the older gray Akai beatpads…can’t remember which off the top of my head. But he’s had it for years and it’s super solid.

I sent my MPD218 back due to double triggering. But, I think that those units can be tweaked if you take off the back and start adding tape to the back of the pads, adjusting screws, etc. There’s a lot of tutorials and articles online about how to do it. I just couldn’t be bothered to do that, so I got a Maschine Mikro 3 instead.