Launchpad Pro MK3 touch strength consistency

Hello, I’m a seasoned drummer just starting this fascinating world of finger drumming.
I’ve purchased the Launchpad Pro MK3 as I need at least 50-60 pads for the different articulations I need.
But I was surprised at the lack of consistency when trying a run of notes of the same velocity. If I were to tap out on a table what I was playing, you’d say the velocities were very consistent, certainly within ten percent value of each other. Novation support had me measure the output through an app called midiox, and the notes were all over the place. For instance 64,105,76,127 when they should have registered much closer together in velocity. I returned that unit and now the new unit is about 50% better, but even still I’m not sure it will be useable as my style is based heavily on nuance.
(And yes, velocity was set to low, and that new threshold button released in the new update was also on low)
My question is if there are any other nuanced drummers that are happy with the pad output consistency of their Launchpad? If so, I’ll keep buying and returning til I find one.
Are the Mikro’s any more consistent? I could get two but that seems so messy to me.
Thank you, and thank you Robert for your energy toward all this. I’m really looking forward to all the new possibilities.
Pete

1 Like

Hey Pete,

I was happy with mine I must say, but I have to add that the velocity “range” when finger drumming is unfortunately very small. So the difference between a loud velocity and a soft one can in the beginning feel like nothing. I personally mostly teach a “firm” hit and a “soft tap” in the beginning, which can then be smoothed out by setting velocity curves in Addictive Drums. Those curves will then make for example all loud hi hat hits nice and loud, and everyting softer than that will sneakily be made a little more consistent.