An argument for cheap controllers (besides price)

My number one problem learning to play the pads so far is slop… that is, accurately hitting the pads in the center, especially when switching hands on the same pad. My understanding is that the pads on the highest end gadgets… i.e., Maschine… are very forgiving of slop, but many other controllers aren’t.

My Aura still registers hits on the edge of the pads, but the hits have less velocity, therefore the notes don’t have the same loudness. Still, I would argue that the problem isn’t really my controller… it’s just sloppy playing on my part. This may sound naive, but I’m glad I didn’t get a Maschine because as a beginner, I feel I’d be learning bad technique and sloppy playing because the pads on the Maschine don’t require near as much accuracy.

So I’m curious if any Maschine users have ever experienced a surprising loss of accuracy when trying to play more budget controllers… and blamed the controller instead of their own accuracy? Conversely, have any Maschine players discovered that they get out-performed by someone who originally learned on less forgiving pads?

Could it be such a big deal that it might be best for beginners to learn on cheaper units, so that they develop better hit accuracy, despite losing some pad sensitivity? I feel velocity and dynamics are less important than accuracy. After all, for most instruments, the “feel” tends to come later after you’ve got some chops… once that happens, you’ve got a good excuse to upgrade to a higher end controller anyway. Thoughts?

1 Like

Aren’t more expensive pad even more sensitive? I don’t think they’ll mask mistakes when playing, although you might have more options regarding sensitivity settings.

1 Like